Appreciation Matters! Day 3

For Day  3 of Appreciation Matters let’s talk about the value of a hand written note to say Thanks!  For the final day of LunchLadies, Aides, and Janitorial Staff Appreciation Weeks I gave hand stamped Thank You cards with a personal note to each person with a $10 gift card for something I thought each person would enjoy.  For example I thought the Lunch :Ladies might enjoy a lunch out, the Aides might enjoy ice cream, etc.  But I felt that the true thanks was the personal note that specified some areas for which they were appreciated.  I know that I love specifics when I receive a thank you – I like knowing what it was that I did or said that they are thanking me for.  Cuz if it was good then I certainly want to know so I can do it again! 🙂  Some questions to ask yourself about the person you want to appreciate so you can be specific –

* Does this person do something that you have noticed that only they do? In what ways has the person made his or her approach to their work/role unique?

* When this person interacts with others, what is their attitude, their demeanor?

* Is this person enthusiastic about doing whatever it is you are thankful for? What is their attitude about their job or role?

* Any other ways this person has individualised his or her position or approach to life?

With answers to questions like these you can begin to compose a personal thank you to just about anybody, anywhere, anytime.  Think about it – do these questions fit a church leader or teacher,  how about your neighbor,,  what about the friendly lady checker at the grocery store, a friend or someone at your school?  Give it some thought and write a personal note of thanks to someone today – go ahead – I DARE you!! 🙂

Once you get in the groove of writing notes then you need to stock up on cute cards to write on and then  you can make a cute box to store them all in.  Or you could store all of the thank you’s you have received over the years in a cute box like this. Then you can go back through them and get warm fuzzies from reading them.  And saving them and reading them can help you the next time you go to compose a letter because you can see thanks through another’s voice or voices.  I believe that saving cards with kind words from others makes us want to help add a  bit of beauty & sunshine to another’s world.  And doesn’t the world need more beauty & sunshine!!

This adorable Note Cards Storage Box started out as a Kraft photo storage box from Michael's that I bought last week.  I added Hello Kitty Kitty paper to the bottom part of the box and used a bubble gum sheet of 12 by 12 paper to cover the lid, then using swimming pool colored paper frills I put a border on the lid.  Found this 3 flowered Doodlepop to complete the cuteness!
This adorable Note Cards Storage Box started out as a Kraft photo storage box from Michael’s that I bought last week. I added Hello Kitty Kitty paper to the bottom part of the box and used a bubble gum sheet of 12 by 12 paper to cover the lid, then using swimming pool colored paper frills I put a border on the lid. Found this 3 flowered Doodlepop to complete the cuteness!
Leave a Reply

